Skip to content

Satisfied? Or Hungry?

July 29, 2017

Today I went on a road trip. Okay, it was only an hour-and-a-half drive one way. But I took the back roads, crossing the interstate, rather than driving on it. I had a destination and a time frame for the morning, but after that I was on my own.

I also had a dining destination for lunch. Supposedly the best pizza in the state and I could arrange my return trip to get there in time for lunch. I’ve had this place in the back of my mind for a couple of months and when this opportunity arose – well, it had to be!

So for a couple of days, I’ve been hungry for pizza. And I was headed to the best pizza place in the whole state…only to find out that they are only open for supper. There certainly wasn’t enough to explore for four more hours in that area, so the pizza place got put back on the bucket list.

But by now, I was hungry. I googled my options. Nothing without going further out of my way. (Yes, I didn’t have a schedule, but I didn’t want to drive an extra hour out of the way to eat! We’re talking rural Iowa here).

So, I capitulated to getting a sub sandwich and a Snickers Tornado. Meh. But at least I wasn’t hungry for the moment. I decided I would pick up a steak to grill for supper when I got home.

As I was driving, I was listening to an audio book about knowing God. One point he made had to do with having a hunger for God, which should never be satisfied.

We should be delighted with God, but we should always want to know God more.

If we get to the point that we are satisfied with our knowledge of God, or the depth of our relationship with God, or our amazement with God, or our wonder of God, we are dying.

The more time we spend with God in His Word, in prayer, in meditation, in listening to sermons, in fasting, the more we will want.

Psalm 42 starts with this picture:

As a deer pants for flowing streams,
    so pants my soul for you, O God.
My soul thirsts for God,
    for the living God.

Are you satisfied with your relationship with God? Or are you still hungry?

BTW: It’s time to fire up the grill for that steak!

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

